Songs and Scriptures – His Robes for Mine

This week I would like to focus on the new hymn “His Robes for Mine” by Chis Anderson and Greg Habegger.  I realize that we are entering the Christmas season, so what in the world am I doing discussing a hymn about the Doctrine of Justification?  I am glad you asked.  It is no surprise that minsters who plan and lead worship do not function on the normal cycle of the seasons.   Christmas is in the summer and Easter in the winter.  So, as you are preparing for music for Easter next year, let me encourage you to include “His Robes for Mine ” in with your repertoire.

Note: at the end of the article there are links for free music and discussion about this song from the author. I urge you to visit those sites as well!  If only for the free music!

His Robes for Mine

by Chris Anderson and Greg Habegger Copyright 2008 churchworksmedia.com

“The Great Exchange” verse 1

His robes for mine: O wonderful exchange! Clothed in my sin, Christ suffered ‘neath God’s rage.
Draped in His righteousness, I’m justified .In Christ I live, for in my place He died.

2 Corinthians 5:21 He made Him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf, so that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.

 Philippians 3:8-9  More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ, and may be found in Him, not having a righteousness of my own derived from the Law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness which comes from God on the basis of faith,

 Isaiah 61:10 I will rejoice greatly in the LORD, My soul will exult in my God; 

For He has clothed me with garments of salvation, He has wrapped me with a robe of righteousness, As a bridegroom decks himself with a garland, And as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.

“Active Obedience” verse 2

His robes for mine: what cause have I for dread? God’s daunting Law Christ mastered in my stead.
Faultless I stand with righteous works not mine, Saved by my Lord’s vicarious death and life.

John 8:29And He who sent Me is with Me; He has not left Me alone, for I always do the things that are pleasing to Him.”

Romans 5:17-19For if by the transgression of the one, death reigned through the one, much more those who receive the abundance of grace and of the gift of righteousness will reign in life through the One, Jesus Christ. So then as through one transgression [a]there resulted condemnation to all men, even so through one act of righteousness there resulted justification of life to all men.  For as through the one man’s disobedience the many were made sinners, even so through the obedience of the One the many will be made righteous.

“Propitiation” verse 3

His robes for mine: God’s justice is appeased. Jesus is crushed, and thus the Father’s pleased.
Christ drank God’s wrath on sin, then cried “‘Tis done!”Sin’s wage is paid; propitiation won.

Isaiah 53:10-11But the LORD was pleased To crush Him, putting Him to grief; If He would render Himself as a guilt offering, He will see His offspring, He will prolong His days, And the good pleasure of the LORD will prosper in His hand. As a result of the anguish of His soul, He will see it and be satisfied; By His knowledge the Righteous One, My Servant, will justify the many, As He will bear their iniquities.

 1 John 4:10 In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins.

 

Results of “The Great Exchange” verse 4

His robes for mine: such anguish none can know. Christ, God’s beloved, condemned as though His foe.
He, as though I, accursed and left alone ;I, as though He, embraced and welcomed home!

Matthew 27:46 About the ninth hour Jesus cried out with a loud voice, saying, “ELI, ELI, LAMA SABACHTHANI?” that is, “MY GOD, MY GOD, WHY HAVE YOU FORSAKEN ME?”

 Romans 5:1-2  Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom also we have obtained our introduction by faith into this grace in which we stand; and we exult in hope of the glory of God.

 Hebrews 10:19-22   Therefore, brethren, since we have confidence to enter the holy place by the blood of Jesus, by a new and living way which He inaugurated for us through the veil, that is, His flesh, and since we have a great priest over the house of God, let us draw near with asincere heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled clean from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water.

Chorus: A Glorious Response!

I cling to Christ, and marvel at the cost: Jesus forsaken, God estranged from God.
Bought by such love, my life is not my own. My praise-my all-shall be for Christ alone.

Romans 6:19-20 I am speaking in human terms because of the weakness of your flesh. For just as you presented your members as slaves to impurity and to lawlessness, resulting in further lawlessness, so now present your members as slaves to righteousness, resulting in sanctification. For when you were slaves of sin, you were free in regard to righteousness.

Romans 12:1-2 Therefore I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect

 

Resources!!

Here is the Link for a FREE hymn sheet copy with modulation! http://www.churchworksmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/12/his-robes-for-mine.pdf

modulation: http://www.churchworksmedia.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/12/his-robes-for-mine-modulation.pdf

Chis Anderson’s own thoughts about his hymn–yes some of this blog post was borrowed from this: http://www.churchworksmedia.com/2008/12/02/his-robes-for-mine-notes-and-discussion/

Leave a Reply

