Story Behind “See What a Morning”

From the Getty website

Song on YouTube

I wanted to write a triumphant melody, and as soon as I came up with this idea I heard ‘Resurrection’ – a song that could be sung on Easter morning or at the beginning of a time of worship, which excites us to the truth that Christ is risen. Stuart and I have enjoyed writing story songs together, and we chatted and decided this would be a great melody for the Resurrection story.

I wanted to write a triumphant melody, and as soon as I came up with this idea I heard ‘Resurrection’ – a song that could be sung on Easter morning or at the beginning of a time of worship, which excites us to the truth that Christ is risen. Stuart and I have enjoyed writing story songs together, and we chatted and decided this would be a great melody for the Resurrection story.

Stuart: Keith sent me through this melody with some lyrical thematic ideas. I really wanted to convey the immediacy of the Easter morning experience, and how that morning changed history forever. The third verse is a response of praise as we realise the amazing consequence of Christ’s resurrection for our lives, drawing us into relationship with the triune God.

Keith sent me through this melody with some lyrical thematic ideas. I really wanted to convey the immediacy of the Easter morning experience, and how that morning changed history forever. The third verse is a response of praise as we realise the amazing consequence of Christ’s resurrection for our lives, drawing us into relationship with the triune God.”

Leave a Reply

