Songs That Last: All I Have Is Christ

My second installment in the “Songs That Last” series is All I Have Is Christ, written by Jordan Kauflin (click here to listen via Youtube).  The song was originally recorded on Sovereign Grace’s Next 2009 Live project, featuring the Na Band.  Jordan Kauflin is the son of Bob Kauflin from Sovereign Grace Ministries.  Another son, Devon, performs lead vocals on the song.  What a talented family!

I first heard this song at the ’09 Worship God Conference at Covenant Life Church in Gaithersburg, Maryland.  Occasionally, a song comes along that affects me in such a way that I am moved to tears.  This was one of those songs!  Wow!  Check out these powerful lyrics…

All I Have Is Christ

Verse 1

I once was lost in darkest night Yet thought I knew the way The sin that promised joy and life Had led me to the grave I had no hope that You would own A rebel to Your will And if You had not loved me first I would refuse You still

Verse 2

But as I ran my hell-bound race Indifferent to the cost You looked upon my helpless state And led me to the cross And I beheld God’s love displayed You suffered in my place You bore the wrath reserved for me Now all I know is grace

Chorus 1

Hallelujah all I have is Christ Hallelujah Jesus is my life

Verse 3

Now Lord I would be Yours alone And live so all might see The strength to follow Your commands Could never come from me O Father use my ransomed life In any way You choose And let my song forever be My only boast is You

Jordan Kauflin © 2008 Sovereign Grace Praise (c/o Integrity Music, Inc.)
Here are 3 reasons I believe this song will last…
  1. Theologically sound lyrics.  Sovereign Grace has a knack for crafting amazing Biblical / Gospel-centered lyrics.
  2.  The music serves the lyrics well.  Meaning, the lyrics are not overshadowed by the music and the melody is singable.  This allows the congregation an opportunity to interact with the meaning of the text.
  3. It could be used well in a variety of musical styles.  As a traditional 4-part hymnal selection, praise band piece, or a choir octavo.
For chord charts and other Sovereign Grace resources, click here
For more information on Worship God ’11 Conference, click here.
Leave a Reply

