Sunday Setlist – 8/7 – HBC

August 7, 2011 – Hawesville Baptist Church

Welcome & Fellowship Holy, Holy, Holy, 2 & Revelation Song

Scripture Reading

Choir Anthem Bow the Knee

Time of Prayer

Song of Praise On Jordan’s Stormy Banks, 521

Children’s Message

Song of Faith My Heart is Filled with Thankfulness

Offering Prayer & Offering Endless Hallelujah

Message “I Die, Then What?” (2 Corinthians 5:1-8)

Song of Response Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone)

This service is a service in between sermon series’.  We have just ended our Habakkuk series and next week we begin our Philippians series.  Bro. Mark is sharing about what happens after we die from 2 Corinthians.

Several songs could have worked thematically to support his message, but I selected these based on the following:

Holy, Holy, Holy(traditional hymn-setting) / Revelation Song (Riddle)- I selected these songs because, after death, we long to worship at the feet of our Savior and cry out holy, holy, holy…both songs breathe this theme.

The choir shared Bow the Knee (Fettke) in worship.  Many times, the choir anthem (selected weeks prior) will not go along exactly with the message of the day.  But several phrases of the lyrics help to remind the listener about God and His plan in our lives.  And when we don’t understand the purpose of His plan, in the presence of the King, bow the knee.  Also, the section of “we walk by faith and not by sight” was mentioned word for word in the passage.

On Jordan’s Stormy Banks – this traditional song has been sung for many years in the church and the lyrics allow the worshiper reflection about where we will be after God calls us home…I am bound for the Promised Land…

We also sang the Keith Getty modern hymn, My Heart is Filled with Thankfulness because of an amazing last line about living our life to its fullest potential: for every day I have on earth is given by the King so I will give my life, my all to love and follow Him.

The praise band led An Endless Hallelujah from Matt Redman’s newest album, 10,000 Reasons.  This fresh modern hymn shares a great message about worshiping forever in His presence when we stand before His throne.

Finally, we shared Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone) (Tomlin) because of an amazing lyric: the earth shall soon dissolve like snow, the sun forbear to shine, but God who called me here below shall be forever mine.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Setlist – 8/7 – HBC

  1. I really like this style of service. So many people have told me that you either have to do contemporary or traditional music in your service but not both. Their side of the argument is this, if you do both styles then it causes problems in the church because some want the old and others want the new and you should only give them one style that way there is not argument, once you go through an adjustment period. I completely disagree with that kind of view. I love the new contemporary music because I feel it conveys what I want to say to my Lord better than a lot of the older hymns, but I grew up on those same hymns and some of them have a deep connection to my early walk. The way I see it is if we tell our congregation, that from this point forward we are only going to do contemporary (or traditional) music, we are hindering someone from praising their Lord. It is really great to see other churches doing blended services, after all it’s not about what we get out of the music, it’s about what the Lord is getting out of us.

    • JR:

      Thanks for the comment, bro! I agree…it is not about style, but thematic substance to support the message…

      Hope all is well,

      Dennis

Leave a Reply

