When Conditions Change

On this September 11th, we had several activities at the church to remember the 10th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks.  We had a breakfast for first responders, fire dept, police, military, etc.  The breakfast was followed by a special service during the Sunday school hour where we recognized these individuals.  After a 7 minute break, we had our regular morning worship service.  By all accounts the services went well and were well-received by all.  However few knew what was going on in my heart…

At 7:56 AM that morning I received a text message from my pastor saying “the computer won’t stay on this morning.”   After initially thinking he was joking with me (my pastor and I have a very light-hearted relationship), I started to be concerned.  I got to church and our youth pastor was trying to work on the computer to no avail.  You obviously know that Patriotic-type services tend to have more videos and slideshows than any other service in the whole year.  I had saved nearly everything on the desktop!!!  At that point, I was spiraling down hill in a hurry.  I had limited time to switch out computers, find the files for the services, etc.

To make a long story short, when it came to leading worship in the second service – I went through the motions.  You ever been there???    I had become so concerned about the changing conditions all around me that I had forgot the ONE who never changes and is always constant.  I did nearly everything that morning in my own strength and I reaped the consequences of it.  Not to mention my apprehensiveness for these types of services.  (Read my previous article here.)

As worship leaders, the things that we often let affect us the most are often silly and trivial.  We don’t have to have technology to worship.  We just need JESUS!  My Pastor’s sermon was ironically titled “When Conditions Change” that morning as he continued preaching through the book of Nehemiah.

His sermon applied well to remembering the seriousness of 9/11, but it also applied to this selfish little worship leader’s problems.  How are you when conditions change???  Where do you turn???  Do you look at the circumstances all around you or do you look to the ONE who is Sovereign over everything???

Great is Thy faithfulness O God my Father

There is no shadow of turning with Thee

Thou changest not Thy compassions they fail not

As Thou hast been Thou forever wilt be

Leave a Reply

