Hymns That Shaped Our Lives: Zach Rice

Much like John & Dennis, I grew up in a church that was rich in hymnody.  We sang the hymns of Crosby, Watts, Wesley, etc.  I remember singing Victory in Jesus, Because He Lives, Amazing Grace, and countless other classics.  However, the song I chose as one that has shaped me is one I’ve learned in the last 7-8 years.  Although I’ve learned it recently, it is not a modern hymn.  It’s an older song that I missed somewhere along the way.  The song is “Teach Me Thy Way, O Lord.”   I first heard this hymn in Dr. Daniel Block’s “Biblical Theology of Worship” class at Southern Seminary.  Dr. Block always liked to involve singing in the beginning of his class and this song  really got to me.  It’s not overly deep and it’s not got a fancy melody, but it says something that profoundly spoke to my heart.  It spoke to me so much so that I asked my dad to lead it at the end of my ordination service in 2010.  This song speaks deeply to every season of life.  It reminds me to run the race well.  (Hebrews 12:1, 1 Corinthians 9:24)

Teach Me Thy Way O Lord

Verse 1

Teach me Thy Way O Lord Teach me Thy Way Thy guiding grace afford Teach me Thy Way Help me to walk aright More by faith less by sight Lead me with heav’nly light Teach me Thy Way

Verse 2

When I am sad at heart Teach me Thy Way When earthly joys depart Teach me Thy Way In hours of loneliness In times of dire distress In failure or success Teach me Thy Way

Verse 3

When doubts and fears arise Teach me Thy Way When storms o’erspread the skies Teach me Thy Way Shine through the cloud and rain Through sorrow toil and pain Make Thou my pathway plain Teach me Thy Way

Verse 4

Long as my life shall last Teach me Thy Way Where’er my lot be cast Teach me Thy Way Until the race is run Until the journey’s done Until the crown is won Teach me Thy Way

Benjamin Mansell Ramsey © Public Domain
Leave a Reply

