Songs We Should Sing – “O the Blood”

I have to admit, this is sort of empowering . . . and also disconcerting.   If you are like me then you realize my predicament; I love being right.  So, to pick a song that we all should be singing is humbling at best.  I would hate to be wrong, but I hope after reading this, you will see what I see in this tremendous new song by Thomas and Mary Miller (via Gateway Church).

First, let me share the lyrics.

O The Blood

O the blood crimson love
Price of life’s demand
Shameful sin placed on Him
The Hope of ev’ry man

Chorus
O the blood of Jesus washes me
O the blood of Jesus shed for me
What a sacrifice that saved my life
Yes the blood it is my victory

Savior Son Holy One
Slain so I can live
O see the Lamb the great I Am
Who takes away my sin

(BRIDGE)
O the blood of the Lamb
O the blood of the Lamb
O the blood of the Lamb
The precious blood of the Lamb
What a sacrifice that saved my life
Yes the blood it is my victory

O what love no greater love
Grace how can it be
That in my sin yes even then
He shed His blood for me

What a sacrifice that saved my life
Yes the blood it is my victory

© 2010 Gateway Create Publishing (Admin. by EMI Christian Music Publishing)

Second, lets talk about the lyrics. They are awesome.  (Yes, I am tempted to stop here) In a day and age where I keep hearing pastors talk about congregations ceasing to sing about the “blood” of the Lamb, I am greatly encouraged.  We must never shy from the blood of Jesus.  It is simply essential for salvation and thus is worthy of the praise that we can bring it. (You will need to look further for an in-depth discussion of the importance of the blood of Christ) Besides the appropriate subject matter, “O the Blood” is deep and simple at the same time.   It is deep because of the subject with which it pertains.  It is simple because of the deft hand with which it was constructed, both musically and poetically. Third, it has a chorus.  This may seem strange, but there are many, many quality worship songs that are so rich theologically, they leave little room for mediation during the song itself. By putting a chorus with “O the Blood,” one of the benefits is that there a reprieve from the theological richness; this reprieve allows for the worshiper to let what they have just sung to have a slight chance for immediate digestion.  (I really think this is a wise decision.)

Third, music.  The only complaint, I have about this song is that the lead sheets that I have seen are not easily accessible for most praise teams and thus congregations. Because most editors and arrangers seem to attempt to capture exactly what Kari Jobe has made popular, or maybe another reason–if there is I don’t know, it has made the sheet music appalling to attempt to read–this coming from a professional musician.  That is why I have made my own arrangement/transcription–namely to ease the process of learning and reading of the score. I would suggest you take to time to do this yourself.  If you cannot or do not have the desire to do so, it is easily purchased from http://www.praisecharts.com/detail/arrangement/8858.

Final Thoughts.

Even with the one transcription issue that I have, the Miller’s have done a superb job crafting, with the Lord’s help, a solid, theologically sound, and beautiful worship song that you should be singing.

For your listening pleasure, a Link to a YouTube recording: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojBca7C-d-U&ob=av3n

 

 

Leave a Reply

