Songs and Scriptures: How Deep the Father’s Love for Us

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How Deep the Father’s Love for Us

By Stuart Townend

© 1995 Thankyou Music (Admin. by EMI Christian Music Publishing)

Verse 1

How deep the Father’s love for us how vast beyond all measure
That He should give His only Son to make a wretch His treasure

John 15:13 Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends.

Isaiah 53:10-11 But the LORD was pleased To crush Him, putting Him to grief; If He would render Himself as a guilt offering, He will see His offspring, He will prolong His days, And the good pleasure of the LORD will prosper in His hand.  As a result of the anguish of His soul, He will see it and be satisfied; By His knowledge the Righteous One, My Servant, will justify the many, As He will bear their iniquities. 

How great the pain of searing loss The Father turns His face away
As wounds which mar the Chosen One Bring many sons to glory

Isaiah 53:4-5 Surely our griefs He Himself bore, And our sorrows He carried; Yet we ourselves esteemed Him stricken, Smitten of God, and afflicted. But He was pierced through for our transgressions, He was crushed for our iniquities; 
The chastening for our well-being fell upon Him, And by His scourging we are healed. 

Verse 2

Behold the Man upon a cross my sin upon His shoulders
Ashamed I hear my mocking voice Call out among the scoffers

Luke 23:35-37 And the people stood by, looking on. And even the rulers were sneering at Him, saying, “He saved others; let Him save Himself if this is the Christ of God, His Chosen One.” The soldiers also mocked Him, coming up to Him, offering Him sour wine, and saying, “If You are the King of the Jews, save Yourself!” 

It was my sin that held Him there until it was accomplished

Luke 12:50 But I have a baptism to undergo, and how distressed I am until it is accomplished! 

His dying breath has brought me life I know that it is finished

John 19:30 Therefore when Jesus had received the sour wine, He said, “It is finished!” And He bowed His head and gave up His spirit.

Verse 3

I will not boast in anything No gifts no power no wisdom

Jeremiah 9:23-24 Thus says the LORD, “Let not a wise man boast of his wisdom, and let not the mighty man boast of his might, let not a rich man boast of his riches;  but let him who boasts boast of this, that he understands and knows Me, that I am the LORD who exercises lovingkindness, justice and righteousness on earth; for I delight in these things,” declares the LORD.

But I will boast in Jesus Christ His death and resurrection

Galatians 6:14 But may it never be that I would boast, except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, through which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.

Why should I gain from His reward I cannot give an answer
but this I know with all my heart His wounds have paid my ransom

Ephesians 3:16-19 that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with power through His Spirit in the inner man, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; and that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all thesaints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ which surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled up to all the fullness of God.

Leave a Reply

