NEW SERIES: Worship Conferences

worship conferences

In February, Church Music Today’s contributors will share some posts about conferences you need to know about!  We will give you some information about conferences we support and share as much useful information as we can about them (the main who, what, when, where and why of each conference).

This is about the time of year when you can start thinking ahead, looking at your budget and planning for a conference (usually late spring or summer).

logo

Today, I will post about the REFUEL conference at Thomas Road Baptist Church in Lynchburg, VA.  In 2012, it was held in May and is for Pastors, Worship Leaders and Pastoral Staff.  In 2013, it will be held in the fall.

The REFUEL conference desires to cultivate church growth by facilitating spiritual growth and rejuvenation within each leader who attends.

I attended in 2012 and enjoyed the entire conference.  They wanted to totally invest in refueling the pastoral leaders to go back into their home churches refreshed and renewed to minister.  They understood our struggles, had no ego (thought their church was 1,000 times the size of mine) and put us first in every thought.  It was just what I needed at the time, instead of listening through choir music at a choral conference, I was being fed Spiritually.

In 2012 there was an event for Worship Leaders only prior to the main conference led by Charles Billingsley.  Worship was led by Billingsley and the TRBC praise band. Speakers for the main sessions included: Lance Witt, James MacDonald, Rick Warren (a live Skype from London, England), Jonathan Fallwell, and others.

Best of all….ready for this?…I don’t think you are.  The conference was FREE.  Seriously.  I talked with Charles Billingsley about it and they consider the conference on of their biggest ministries – impacting the lives of hundreds of ministers from across the nation – equipping them and energizing them to minister in their local communities is a passion of theirs.  This was a HUGE help to me – as my conference budget was cut that fiscal year at my church.  I was only out travel (drove church van), hotel cost and any food I chose to get (some food was provided).

I don’t know what the conference will look like in 2013 in the fall, but if they offer it in the same fashion I will be there.

I wrote some posts about the 2012 conference here, here, here and here.  Their website it found here.

Connect with them on facebook and/or twitter.

Follow our blog this month to check out conference recommendations from our awesome contributors here at Church Music Today!

2 thoughts on “NEW SERIES: Worship Conferences

  1. Good idea on this series. Looking forward to it. I’m going to WorshipGod in Louisville this summer. I live in Virginia, but I didn’t know about Refuel. Glad to see it’s worth going to! I will probably try to make it this year.

    • Thanks! I think there will be some great ideas headed our way. I plan on attending WorshipGod in Louisville as well with fellow contributor, Zach Rice.

Leave a Reply

